

JRRT directors: past and present

In order by date of appointment

The original directors were:

Joseph Rowntree	1904–1925	Chair: 1904–1925
Arnold Stephenson Rowntree	1904–1951	Chair: 1925–1938
Benjamin Seebohm Rowntree	1904–1954	Chair: 1938–1951
John Wilhelm Rowntree	1904–1905	
Joseph Stephenson Rowntree	1904–1920	
Oscar Frederick Rowntree	1904–1931	

Subsequent directors were:

John Bowes Morrell Elihu Richard Cross William Charles Braithwaite Ernest Edwin Taylor B Philip Rowntree	1906–1963 1913–1916 1915–1922 1925–1951 1938–1977ª	Chair: 1951–1963
William Bowes Morrell Francis David Stuart Edward F W Goodman John H Black Oliver Sheldon Roger Cowan Wilson		Chair: 1963–1981
Michael H Rowntree Charles Philip Fothergill William Wallace Richard S Wainwright Lionel Robbins Richard S Rowntree Jo Grimond Pratap Chidamber Chitnis Elinor M Goodman David A Currie	1951–1992 1954–1959 1959–1969 1959–1984 1960–1963 1964–1994 1967–1985 1975–1988 1983–1990 1991–2002	Chair: 1981–1987
Trevor A Smith David T Shutt Christopher J Greenfield Archy J Kirkwood	1975–2010	Chair: 1987–1999 Chair: 2007–2010 Chair: 2010–2013 Chair: 1999–2006

^a With a break between 1958 and 1969 when he acted as Executive Officer of the Trust



JRRT directors: past and present

In order by date of appointment (continued)

Christine J Day	1991–2015	Chair: 2013–2015
Diana E Scott	1995–2007	Chair: 2006–2007
Pam Giddy	2000–2011	
Peadar Cremin	2003–2015	
Mandy C Cormack	2003–2016	
Danny G Alexander	2007–2010	
Archy J Kirkwood	2010–2012 ^b	
Nicholas B Harvey	2014–2017	Chair: 2015–2017
Ben Lyons	2018–2025	

The current directors are:

Andrew C Neal	2008–	Chair: 2017–
Alison Goldsworthy	2012–	
Sarah V Brinton	2013–	
Amy Dalrymple	2016–	
Julian L Huppert	2016–	
Susan L Mendus	2016–	
Lisa Smart	2016–	
Roger Clarke	2018–	
Fionna Tod	2019–	
Saba Shafi	2023–	
Duncan Hames	2023–	
Imran Sanaullah	2023–	

^b Second term